Babette shrimp dish for company, sub eggplant

When I lived with a family in Lyon, my French mom Babette described herself as an “epicurienne,” she explained this to me as someone who wants good food but isn’t fussy, and willing to try new things. She relished this dish, which she learned to make while living in Brazil, because the tangy, and slightly sweet broth that envelops the shrimp seems so complex. In reality it is sort of a lucky weird combination. When I make it at home I use chopped eggplant. Missouri is not the land of shrimp. Saute onions in a skillet over medium heat, add the chopped eggplant and cook until soft. Then add about 1/3 a can of coconut milk, and about 3 tablespoons of ketchup, salt and pepper. Babette served her shrimp dish as an amuse bouche to start the meal in little glasses, with a long spoon, but she told me it was good for a meal with rice or pasta.

Leave a comment