White wine with grapefruit syrup

When I stayed in Lyon my french family and I would often drink rose pamplemousse, or rose with a small amout of grapefruit syrup. It was apparently all the rage among the young, hip, and French. The other night, a hot night after a very long day at work, I decided to make some. I couldn’t find any rose because the great wine shop that is within walking distance of my house was closed. I couldn’t wait, I’d already invited my friend Danny over to drink it with me and relive about our France days. I went by the brewery next to the Root Cellar and bought a bottle of sauvingnon blanc. At home mixed grapefruit juice with water and sugar and reduced it down to make the syrup. I let the syrup cool in a big jar and then added the bottle of wine and let the whole works chill in the fridge for an hour before Danny’s scheduled arrival. My French mom once told me to always drink out of stemmed glasses because they made every occasion and every drink, even water, feel special. But such elegance was not needed. Danny and I, and a few of my housemates served the wine out of the jar with a ladel into chiped mugs, and for the first time in a while, I felt relaxed.

One Response to “White wine with grapefruit syrup”

  1. I’m happy to have gotten my first mention on your blog, and Tuesday evening was quite relaxing.

Leave a comment